Day -2: Easter Sunday, Last Day of Chemo!

wpid-20150405_102339.jpg

Well, today was a pretty good day considering what is going on. I woke up still feeling nauseous, but that’s to be expected, so I immediately had them give me my anti-nausea medicine (Zofran). It worked like a charm. Something else that has been really nice these last couple days is being able to order popsicles. They really feel good on the throat! I still haven’t been able to stomach the idea of a hot meal, so I’m still sticking with the raisin bran, and even that I just gonna have to choke it down! The nurses have done a really good job of making sure I’m comfortable and they are really good at what they do.

wpid-20150405_152624.jpg

If I’ve learned one thing about this disease in the past few years, it’s that if I’m feeling like crap, I just have to get up and walk around a little bit. I got up today and threw on the good ol’ walking suit (aka mask, rubber gloves, and gown) and headed for the hallway to walk around until I got a mile or so, and by then I was feeling a lot better!

wpid-resizedimage_1428242245766.jpgwpid-resizedimage951428247558832.jpgwpid-resizedimage951428258941369.jpgwpid-img_20150405_082239_349.jpg

One of the fun things about today was getting all the Easter pictures from Liz. I loved looking a the pictures of Olivia looking for her Easter candy and dyeing Easter eggs. I loved to see her in her Easter dress. I gotta say it was a little hard to miss it, but it was great getting pictures and updates all day!

wpid-resizedimage_1428266805162.jpgwpid-resizedimage951428265350514_2.jpgwpid-resizedimage951428265736878_2.jpg

The exciting news of the day is today is my last day of chemotherapy! I can’t tell you how excited I am to be done with this! Also it’s a huge obstacle to overcome on this road to transplant.  Just like every day, they started giving all my pre-chemo medications at 3:30 pm and I was on my chemo by 4:30 pm. Tonight was nice, because Liz was able to make it back over.  It was really nice of Laurie and Leo to drive her down and babysit Olivia at the hotel. Because of that, she could come sit with me during part of it and kept me company. Time definitely goes better when she’s here with me, and it’s nice having someone here for support with so much down time!

wpid-20150405_183348.jpg wpid-20150405_180716.jpg

Another good thing about I’m getting off the chemo is that means I get my catheter out tomorrow. We don’t have to worry so much about my bladder! I’m definitely more excited to get rid of the catheter, than being done with the chemo.

wpid-20150405_175130.jpg wpid-20150405_160007.jpg wpid-20150405_155958.jpg

After all that was done and Liz left, I just took it easy for the rest of the night. The nausea just doesn’t make it fun to try to move around or do much. Even trying to watch stuff on TV seems like a task. It just feels better turning off the lights and enjoying a dark room.

Now that I’m off chemo, tomorrow all I have to do is take those rabbit steroids (rATG) and get my catheter taken out. I’m just trying to do everything so I can to relax and get ready for my transplant, which will be on Tuesday morning, day 0! It’s so hard for me to believe that this is actually happening to me and getting that second chance! Honestly, with all the drugs in my system, plus nausea, I can’t even begin to talk about it without feeling somewhat emotional, so I’ll wrap up this day on that note! Here’s to being one step closer!

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

